Language Hoping

Language Hoping

Every programmer has used almost every major language on the market, just as every Linux user has tried almost every distro.

Why we language hop.

From my own perspective as a former beginner, I personally hoped languages because I was looking for the so called "BEST LANGUAGE". A good example is python; python is scripting language and you need certain modules for you to able to visual things. As a beginner I got tired of console applications because it feels like I was not doing anything major.

This personally made my programming journey a bit difficult because I began looking for another language that could do the job. I tried Go, C, C++, JavaScript and many more I can not remember. I always knew JavaScript was a language where you could see results early but I was never keen on learning HTML and CSS because they usually come as bundle(which was a wrong thought process); they are frameworks which make development of HTML and CSS easier.

It took some time before I finally understood that each language has its strength and weakness and it is in our understanding of these weaknesses and strengths do we truly understand the language and be able to make incredible things with it.

My thoughts on language hoping

I think that language hoping is a necessary part of a developer/programmer/coder's life because you never know which language is best for you and your needs until you have tried the others.

It was during this language hoping that I finally found the languages I like and will continue to use, which are:

  • Python
  • C-Sharp(C#)
  • GDScript