Intro to coding

Intro to coding

Growing up I always enjoyed using a computer. Mainly for games, movies, music and making presentations in PowerPoint. It was until 2016 when I was 14 years old, when my high school computer teacher introduced me HTML (Yes, I know HTML is not a programming language), but it was amazing typing into Notepad and seeing the changes on the browser. This when the coding flame was sparked.

No progress zone (2017 - 2018)

After learn a bit of HTML, CSS and JavaScript, I found that I actually didn't enjoy the process of joining different scripts into one. I decided to stop coding after we made a website where you could change the background color by pressing a button.

My teacher didn't give up on me so he said I should take Computer Science as one my subjects, which I did reluctantly but it was that move that let the spark continue to grow. In my Computer Science class was first time I was introduced to my first programming language "JAVA".

The Java language was when I saw that coding could be difficult, the syntax was not making it any easier to learn but I was determined to learn it and so I put the work and I began better but I had to stop coding cause of my IGSCE exams. After I finished my exams, I never bothered to try coding so I lost the touch.

The Journey (2019 - Present)

2019 was the year it all changed for me, it was the year I met "PYTHON" and that spark turned into a full blast furnace. With no teachers and people around to teach me I begun the route of a self taught developer and I have not changed my mind since.

Over time I began to get better with python but the hunger inside me began to grow, the hunger to do more and learn more. This hunger lead me to discover photo and video editing, logo design and game development. To this day am still on that journey.

2022 Update

Am now 20 and have been coding for about 6 years, which something I thought I would never say. In my years I have had my stumbles along way, tried picking some new technologies which did not lead to anything. However with being constant I have managed to more efficient with a few languages which are:

  • Python
  • C#
  • php
  • VB.Net
  • JavaScript

The journey is not yet over and I continue to sharpening my skills because am forever a "studentdev"